link to book If so, I would suspect torn anode bags and/or a poorly functioning filter. I am neither an electrochemist nor an electroplater, so I have very little experience in this area and am deeply grateful for any help. Can you explain what causes can make it that way? My question would be why is your anode gassing and your cathode not (which is the opposite of most electroplating situations)? In the case of 2.9 V, the copper microcolumn diameter decreased to 44.7 μm, and the grains on the surface became smaller, resulting in a smooth surface (figure 4(b)). Materials Research Express, In the case of 2.8 V, the average diameter of the copper microcolumn was 76.5 μm, and the large grains on the surface of the copper column resulted in a rough surface (figure 4(a)). The effect of the concentration of MMI on the corrosion of copper in sulfuric acid was studied using electrochemical and gravimetric methods. A. As part of my studies, I am trying to create a comprehensive model for electrochemistry. A common cause of roughness is solid particles in solution. A. I am not a theorist and really can't help much. I am growing thin (~100 nm thick) copper films on a (gallium arsenide) semiconductor surface by electrolysis, using ~0.3 M copper sulphate solution. Also I would be very interested in any recommended links or resources in this matter. This work, which provided an understanding of how specific factors affect the surface morphology, column diameter, and structural characteristics, has laid the foundation for the practical application of LECD. affil. Copper microcolumns were deposited by LECD under different sulfuric acid concentrations. A. Express 7 056515, 1 School of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, Central South University, Changsha 410083, People's Republic of China, Qixin Qing https://orcid.org/0000-0002-2524-9000, Fuliang Wang https://orcid.org/0000-0003-1725-4827, Received 21 February 2020 However, sulfuric acid is often added to the electrolyte during c